Key Takeaways

  • There are four programs that can help Medicare beneficiaries with limited incomes pay for their Medicare coverage.

  • Discover the eligibility thresholds for these programs in our charts, including changes made by individual states.

The Medicare Savings Programs (MSPs) are a set of benefits that are administered by state Medicaid agencies and help people pay for their Medicare costs. MSPs are divided into several programs:

  • The Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB)
  • Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB)
  • Qualifying Individual (QI)
  • Qualified Disabled Working Individual (QDWI)

QMB, SLMB, and QI pay for a person's Medicare Part B premium. (QMB also covers additional cost-sharing in Parts A and B.) QDWI helps pay for a person's Part A premium.

Using the Federal poverty guidelines, we maintain this updated eligibility chart with state-specific information about the income and resource thresholds for the four Medicare Savings Programs that can help low-income Medicare beneficiaries pay their healthcare costs. This chart is updated annually or as we receive news about states changing their MSP guidelines. (Note: Slight changes were made to the chart following the official release of Medicaid guidelines by CMS in March 2021.)

Contact us if you would like to obtain a Word version of this chart for use/adaptation in training.